AHEC Council

Name Title
Stoney A. Abercrombie, MD Director of Medical Education; USC Professor Family Medicine; MUSC AHEC Professor (Anderson/Family Medicine)
Graham Adams, PhD Chief Executive Officer, South Carolina Office of Rural Health
William D. Anderson, MD, FAAFP, DAB, FM USC Dean's Representative, Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer
Edward W. Bray, III, MD Associate Dean GME and CME; Greenville Health System Designated Institutional Official (DIO)
Gerard C. Jebaily, MD Director, McLeod Family Medicine Residency Program; Associate Director for Clinical Affairs; MUSC AHEC Associate Professor (Florence/Family Medicine)
Donna H. Kern, MD MUSC Dean's Representative Assistant Professor, Family Medicine; Associate Dean for Curriculum Integration & Implementation and Assistant Dean for Patient Safety & Simulation, College of Medicine
Timothy J. Kowalski, MS Dean, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine Carolinas Campus
Ann Lefebvre, MSW, CPHQ Executive Director, South Carolina AHEC; Clinical Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Associate Dean, Community Medicine, MUSC
Diane M. Mathews, MS Center Director, Lowcountry AHEC; Adjunct Faculty College of Health Professions, MUSC
Tann J. Platt, MD Chair, Rural Physician Board; Associate Professor of Clinical Family and Preventive Medicine, USC; Medical Director, SCDHHS
Cheri Plyler, MBA Center Director, Mid-Carolina AHEC
Deneatrice “Nita” Donald, BS, MEd, GCDF, CET Center Director, Upstate AHEC
Katherine G. Stephens, PhD, MBA, FACHE Vice President of Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official for GME
Steven Svoboda, MBA Designated Institutional Official, Grand Strand Medical Center
Robert J. Tiller, MD Director of Medical Education and Residency Program Director, Self Regional Healthcare; MUSC AHEC Associate Professor (Greenwood/Family Medicine)
Jerry R. Youkey, MD Dean, USC School of Medicine Greenville
Angie, Ayers, MDA, C- TAGME Designated Institutional Official, Director of Medical Education, Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System
Non-Voting Members
Gail B. Weaver, MA Center Director, Pee Dee AHEC; Adjunct Faculty, College of Health Professions, MUSC

Center Directors Council

Name Title Phone Email
Deneatrice “Nita” Donald, BS, MEd, GCDF, CET Center Director, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1160 ndonald@upstateahec.org
Ann Lefebvre, MSW, CPHQ Executive Director, South Carolina AHEC; Clinical Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Associate Dean, Community Medicine, MUSC (843) 792-4431 lefebvre@musc.edu
Diane M. Mathews, MS Center Director, Lowcountry AHEC; Adjunct Faculty College of Health Professions, MUSC (843) 782-5052 ext. 103 mathewsd@lcahec.com
Cheri Plyler, MBA Center Director, Mid-Carolina AHEC (803) 286-4121 cplyler@comporium.net
Gail B. Weaver, MA Center Director, Pee Dee AHEC; Adjunct Faculty, College of Health Professions, MUSC (843) 777-5353 gweaver@mcleodhealth.org
Non-Voting Members
Jennifer Bailey, MEd Associate Program Director for Education and Evaluation 843-792-8230 baileyje@musc.edu
Donald Tyner, MBA Associate Program Director for Business and Finance 843-792-4427 tynerd@musc.edu
Program Office Support
Shaquana Randall Executive Administrative Assistant (843) 792-4429 randals@musc.edu

Family Medicine Directors Council

Name Title Phone Email
J. Burton Banks, MD Program Director, Grand Strand Family Medicine Residency Program (843) 692-3497 jerry.banks@hcahealthcare.com
Paul Bornemann, MD, RMSK, RPVI Program Director, Palmetto Health Family Medicine Residency Program; and Director of Primary Care Ultrasound, Ultrasound Institute; Assistant Professor of Family Medicine, University of South Carolina School of Medicine (803) 434-6113 paul.bornemann@uscmed.sc.edu
Patricia Bouknight, MD Program Director; Spartanburg Family Medicine Residency Program (864) 560-1558 pbouknight@srhs.com
Matthew K. Cline, MD Family Medicine Residency Program Director, Medical Director, AnMed Family Medicine; MUSC AHEC Professor (Anderson/Family Medicine) (864) 512-1473 matthew.cline@anmedhealth.org
Alec DeCastro, MD Program Director, MUSC/Trident Family Medicine Residency Program; Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine/Sports Medicine (843) 876-7080 decastroa@musc.edu
T. Edwin Evans, MD Program Director, Seneca Lakes Family Medicine Residency Program; MUSC AHEC Associate Professor (Seneca/Family Medicine) (864) 482-0027 tevans4@ghs.org
Vincent Green, MD Director, Family Practice Residency Program, Greenville Health System (864) 455-7800 vgreen@ghs.org
Gerard C. Jebaily, MD Director, McLeod Family Medicine Residency Program; Associate Director for Clinical Affairs; MUSC AHEC Associate Professor (Florence/Family Medicine) (843) 777-2809 gjebaily@mcleodhealth.org
Ann Lefebvre, MSW, CPHQ Executive Director, South Carolina AHEC; Clinical Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Associate Dean, Community Medicine, MUSC (843) 792-4431 lefebvre@musc.edu
Robert Tiller, MD Director of Medical Education and Residency Program Director, Self Regional Healthcare; MUSC AHEC Associate Professor (Greenwood/Family Medicine) (864) 725-4869 rtiller@selfregional.org
Brintha Vasagar, MD, MPH Associate Program Director, Tidelands Health MUSC Family Medicine Residency Program, MUSC Assistant Professor of Family Medicine (843) 652-1293 brvasagar@tidelandshealth.org
Program Office Support
Kristin Cochran, MHA Director of Recruitment and Student Programs, South Carolina AHEC Program Office (843) 792-6977 cochrak@musc.edu

Continuing Professional Development Council

Name Title Phone Email
Julie Antley Program Assistant, SC AHEC Program Office (843) 792-6222 antleyj@musc.edu
Katelyn Bailey Continuing Education Coordinator, Mid-Carolina AHEC (803) 286-4121 kbailey@comporium.net
Diana Caron, RN, BHS, MEd Continuing Education Coordinator, Lowcountry AHEC (843) 782-5052 ext. 109 carond@lcahec.com
Jasmine Douglas, BS, CHES Continuing Education Coordinator, Lowcountry AHEC (843) 782-5052 douglasj@lcahec.com
Rebecca Jackson, RN Continuing Education Coordinator, Mid-Carolina AHEC (803) 286-4121 rljackson@comporium.net
Jennifer Nelson Continuing Education Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5352 jnelson@mcleodhealth.org
Beejay Parnell Continuing Education Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5347 beejay.parnell@mcleodhealth.org
Cheri Plyler, MBA Center Director, Mid-Carolina AHEC (803) 434-6113 cplyler@comporium.net
Marti Sturdevant, BA Program Coordinator, SC AHEC Program Office (843) 792-6606 sturdev@musc.edu
Lauren Taylor, MBA Director of Continuing Professional Development for Live Programming, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1178 ltaylor@upstateahec.org
Jennifer Walker, MSN, BSN, RN Director of Distance Learning, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1164 jwalker@upstateahec.org

Health Careers Program Council

Name Title Phone Email
Angelica E. Christie, MEd Director of Health Careers Program South Carolina AHEC Program Office (843) 532-0306 christae@musc.edu
Deneatrice “Nita” Donald, BS, MEd, GCDF, CET Center Director, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1176 ndonald@upstateahec.org
Jalacy Green, BS Health Careers Program Coordinator, Lowcountry AHEC (843) 782-5052 greenj@lcahec.com
Katrina Johnson Health Careers Program Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5598 katrina.johnson@mcleodhealth.org
Paula M. Jones, BHS, MBA Health Careers Program Coordinator, South Carolina AHEC Program Office (843) 792-4443 jonespa@musc.edu
Matthew Peak Health Careers Program Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5351 matthew.peake@mcleodhealth.org
Whitney Rojas Health Careers Program Coordinator, Mid-Carolina AHEC (803) 286-4121 whitneyrojas@comporium.net
Tiara Scott Health Careers Program Coordinator, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1175 tscott@upstateahec.org

Health Professions Student Council

Name Title Phone Email
Jennifer Bailey, MEd Associate Program Director for Education and Evaluation, SC AHEC Program Office (843) 792-8230 baileyje@musc.edu
Lance Butler Health Professions Student Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5341 lance.butler@mcleodhealth.org
Stephanie Flowers Health Professions Student Coordinator, Pee Dee AHEC (843) 777-5345 sflowers@mcleodhealth.org
Tina Fulton, BS Health Professions Student Coordinator, Upstate AHEC (864) 349-1168 tfulton@upstateahec.org
Julie Ghent Health Professions Student Coordinator, Mid- Carolina AHC (803) 286-4121 jughent@comporium.net
Kimbley (Kim) Stephens, MSEd Health Professions Student Coordinator, Lowcountry AHEC (843) 782-5052 stephensk@lcahec.com
Marti Sturdevant, BA Program Coordinator, SC AHEC Program Office (843) 792-6606 sturdev@musc.edu
Emily Warren, LMSW Health Professions Student Coordinator, Lowcountry AHEC (843) 782-5052 ext. 105 warrene@lcahec.com
Gail B. Weaver, MA Center Director, Pee Dee AHEC; Adjunct Faculty, College of Health Professions, MUSC (843) 777-5353 gweaver@mcleodhealth.org
SC AHEC

South Carolina Area Health Education Consortium educates, recruits and retains healthcare providers for the state.

South Carolina AHEC is a state agency that was originally established in 1972.

Contact

  (843) 792-4431

   (843) 792-4430

  SCAHEC

  @SCarolinaAHEC

  SC AHEC